Imperial College London Department of Earth Science and Engineering

UNDERGRADUATE PRIZES 2018-19

| A.G. CHARLETON INSTITUTION OF MINING & | Awarded by the Institution of Mining & Metallurgy to a second, third or fourth year | 2nd, 3rd or 4th Year | Louise Guillaume (Best Y2 geology mark) |
|---|--|---|--|
| METALLURGY PRIZE | RSM student for all-round excellence. | | |
| BENNETT H. BROUGH MEDAL | Awarded annually to an Associateship student showing excellence in subjects related to Mine Surveying. | 3 rd or 4 th Year | Rhian O'callaghan (Y4 - highest minerals processing mark) |
| BRITISH GEOPHYSICAL ASSOCIATION | Value £100 Awarded to the best performing student in the Morocco geophysics field course | 2 nd Year | Davor Dundovic |
| BP DEAN'S AWARD | Value £1,500 | 1st year | Savvas Marcou |
| | Awarded annually to students in the top ten percent of Years 1 and 2 who have made the biggest contribution to University life. | 2 nd year | Katie McCann |
| BRITISH SOCIETY OF MINING STUDENTS' PRIZE | Value £100 Awarded annually to the Royal School of Mines student obtaining the highest marks in Mining. | 3 rd or 4 th Year | Emily Gusterson (highest mark in mining waste and water) |
| CLEMENT LE NEVE FOSTER PRIZE | Value £200. Awarded for excellence in Geology, Mineralogy or Mining to a final year RSM student. | Final Year | Carla Huynh (Best BSc geology mark) |
| CULLIS TESTIMONIAL FUND | Value £100. To assist a student of Mining Geology. | 3 rd or 4 th Year | Lorcan Cropper (Y3 – high marks in Mining Waste, AND minerals processing) |
| DE LA BECHE MEDAL | Awarded annually to the best student in Mining. | 3 rd or 4 th Year | Jamie Springer (MSci gold mining in Ghana) |
| E AMBROSIADOU PRIZE | Value: £1,000 Awarded for the best Independent Geology Project | 3 rd or 4 th Year | Adam Smith (best mapping project) |
| EARTH SCIENCE & ENGINEERING STUDENT CENTENARY PRIZE | Value £200 Awarded annually for the best MSci undergraduate project. | 4 th Year | Rita Kounoudis |
| ERNEST EDWARD GLORNEY SCHOLARSHIP IN EARTH RESOURCES ENGINEERING | Value £2000. Awarded annually for excellence to a student completing the final undergraduate year in the Department of Earth Science & Engineering. The Scholarship may be used (a) to study for another year at the College; (b) to obtain practical training after leaving College; or (c) to travel so as to obtain professional experience. | Final Year | Rita Kounoudis (top of the year, best MSci) |
| GOVERNORS' BSc PRIZE IN GEOLOGY OR GEOPHYSICS | Value £100 for books. Awarded to a final year BSc student for excellence in Geophysics | 3 rd Year | Aisling Dunn (highest BSc geophys mark) |
| GOVERNORS' MSci PRIZE IN GEOLOGY OR GEOPHYSICS | Value £100 for books. Awarded to a final year MSci student for excellence in Geophysics | 4 th Year | Will Scott (2nd highest MSci geophys marks) |
| ILLING PRIZE | Value £100 for books. Awarded on the combined results of examinations in the advanced subjects of Geology of Petroleum and Petroleum Reservoir Geology. | 4 th Year | Luke Pontin (highest mark in HFF2) |
| THE MINERALOGICAL SOCIETY STUDENT AWARD | Awarded to the second year student with the highest ranking marks in Mineralogy and Petrology, or an equivalent exam. Student Membership of the Society for two years, Society's recent book publication & a certificate. | 2 nd Year | Guy Cranfield (highest mark in Igneous and Metamorphic Petrology) |
| MURCHISON MEDAL AND PRIZE | Medal and cash prize of £100. Awarded annually to the Royal School of Mines student who stands highest in the first year Geology examinations. | 1st Year | Sumye Nim (highest geology marks in Y1) |

| THE PALAEONTOLOGICAL ASSOCIATION PRIZE The PERRY MEMORIAL PRIZE | Awarded to the second year undergraduate student achieving the best performance in Palaeontology. Value £100. Awarded to the first year student with the best performance in Mathematics and Physics. | 2 nd Year 1 st Year | Louise Guillaume (highest mark in Palaeo 2) Jacob Knight (top in MM1) |
|---|---|--|---|
| ROYCROFT PRIZE | Value £100. Awarded annually for enthusiasm and high performance in first year undergraduate studies to a student in the Department of Earth Science and Engineering. | 1 st Year | Robert Platt (9th in year, but very switched-on on Spain fieldtrip) |
| R. STODDART LONGCROFT PRIZE | Value £150. Awarded annually to the student in the Department of Earth Science and Engineering for obtaining the highest overall marks in the first year examinations. | 1 st Year | Savvas Marcou |
| WARINGTON SMYTH MEDAL AND PRIZE | Medal plus cash prize of £200. Awarded annually to an Associate of the Royal School of Mines in Mining Engineering or Mining Geology, of not more than one year's standing, who presents the best essay, dissertation, report or other appropriate submission (as decided by the Professors concerned) on a subject relating to Mining during his/her final year or within one year of graduation. | Final Year | Rhiannon Jones "Propylitic alteration in the Timok district, Serbia: Explaining false negative mineral chemistry indicators in a major porphyry system" |
| WATTS MEDAL | Awarded on the results of the final examinations in the Department of Earth Science and Engineering (Geology or Mining Geology). | Final Year | Miranda Birt (highest Y4 Geology) |

UNDERGRADUATE NOMINATIONS 2018-19

| BRITISH | Awarded for the best final-year undergraduate | Final Year | Matt Morris |
|-----------------------------------|--|---|---|
| SEDIMENTOLOGICAL | sedimentological project. | | "Neogene Evolution of |
| RESEARCH GROUP | | | Eastern North America" |
| MINERAL DEPOSITS STUDIES GROUP | Value: £250 Awarded for the best dissertation/ project related to mineral deposits. | 3 rd or 4 th Year | James Stringer "The distribution of gold in different sized samples from a Ghanaian gold deposit" |
| TECTONICS STUDIES GROUP PRIZE | Awarded for the best Independent Mapping Project. | 3 rd Year | Adam Smith |
| OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT AWARD | Value: £250 and a Medal Imperial College Award for outstanding achievement in any extramural activity that brings credit to the College. | All Years | Charlie Braham Chris Carter |

This year:

Coral Byron = Ivor Tupper Prize Avni Patel & Emily Gusterson = RSMA bursary Miranda Birt = UKOGL prize for MSci

.